Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Mongolia to chair Online Freedom Coalition

The 4th Freedom Online Coalition Conference took place in Tallinn, Estonia between April 28 and 29 under the theme of Free and Secure Internet for All with the participation of around 400 high-level representatives from 60 countries from Africa, Asia, Europe, North and South America and Oceania attending the conference.

Representatives included 170 members of governments and other public sectors, 150 representatives of NGO’s and international organizations and more than 50 people from the private sector.

Foreign Affairs Minister of Mongolia L.Bold represented Mongolia at the event where he delivered a speech at the conference and held a press conference along with the Estonian Foreign Minister. L.Bold called for active participation in the Freedom Online Coalition Ministerial Conference to be held in Mongolia next year at a ceremonial conference held by Google.

Key speakers included Speaker of the Senate of Kenya Ekwee Ethuro, the President of Estonia Toomas Hendrik Ilves, Google Chief Internet Evangelist and “father of the Internet” Vinton Cerf, representatives from various NGOs and ministers from Canada, Estonia, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria and Tunisia.

At the Ministerial Conference, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, United States Secretary of State John Kerry, President of Estonia Toomas Hendrik Ilves, President of Georgia Giorgi Margvelashvili and Speaker of the Kenyan National Assembly Justin Muturi delivered speeches.

This year the Freedom Online Coalition Ministerial Conference adopted the Tallinn Agenda, or recommendations on how to guarantee that online-freedoms will be a natural principle in the future. This year Moldova and Japan joined the Coalition for the first time.

At the conference ministers and high-level representatives of countries from around the world voted for Mongolia to chair the coalition and the Estonian President and Foreign Ministries of Canada, the Netherlands and Sweden suggested to hold the 5th Annual Freedom Online Coalition Ministerial Conference in Ulaanbaatar and pledged their support.

The Freedom Online Coalition was founded in 2011 at the initiative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands at the Internet freedom conference held in The Hague. Today, the number of coalition members has grown to 23 states. In addition to Estonia, members includes Austria, Canada, the Czech Republic, France, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, Maldives, Mexico, Mongolia, the Netherlands, U.S.A., UK, Sweden, Costa Rica, Finland, Tunisia, Latvia, Germany, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, and Japan. The aim of the Freedom Online Coalition is to protect and promote freedom of the Internet globally and to shape international decisions based on its fundamental principles.

No comments:

Post a Comment