Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Wellington venue for international nuclear technology gathering

There are almost 50 representatives from 20 countries of the Asia and Pacific region and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Wellington this week to discuss cooperation and promotion of the many peaceful uses of nuclear technology.

The four-day event at Te Papa, which began on Monday, is the 36th meeting of the Regional Co-operative Agreement for Research, Development and Training Related to Nuclear Science and Technology for Asia and the Pacific (RCA).

It was last hosted in New Zealand in 1997.

The IAEA member states of the Asia and Pacific region set up the RCA initiative in 1972 with the aim of encouraging co-operative research and development in the peaceful uses of nuclear science.

Its main areas of focus are using nuclear science and isotope technologies to help make significant improvements in agriculture, human health, industry and the environment. This leads to tangible social, economic and environmental benefits in member countries.

The RCA achieves this through sharing knowledge and expertise among member countries.

GNS Science reported that this week’s meeting will review the many existing projects and explore new possibilities for cooperation among member countries.

Government parties to the RCA are Australia, Bangladesh, China, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Republic of Palau, the Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Source: gns.cri.nz

No comments:

Post a Comment