Thursday, March 13, 2014

PH unveils roster for Asian men's volleyball championship

MANILA, Philippines - The Philippine Volleyball Federation has announced the lineup for the PLDT Home TVolution men's national volleyball squad that shall compete in the Asian Club championship from April 8 to 16. The games will be split between The Arena in San Juan and the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

In light of the country' historic hosting of the 2014 Asian Men's Club Volleyball Championship, the PVF revealed the roster in a press conference on Thursday, March 13 at the SM Aura in Taguig.

Actor Richard Gomez will don the national colors for the Power Pinoys, which includes names like JP Torres, Ron Jay Galang, Jeffrey Malabanan and Alnakran Abdilla. The rest of the positions shall be filled by players who will tryout for the spots.

Gomez has been part of the rowing, fencing, and shooting teams for the Philippines as well.

Australian spikers Cedric Legrand and William Robert Lewis will also reinforce the squad. Legrand is the Most Valuable Player of the Victorian Premier League and has been part of the Australian indoor team in 2008.

The 6-foot-4 Lewis meanwhile is expected to play setter.

Francis Vicente will call the shots for the national squad, and he said only the best will make the cut for the Asian tilt.

"Only the best and dedicated players shall be chosen. We want to form a very competitive team for the AMCC."

Competing in the tournament are 18 countries vying for slots at the FIVB World Championship in Betim, Brazil in May.

Philippines will be in Group A with Iraq, Kuwait, and Mongolia. Group B is composed of powerhouse squads Japan and Iran with Lebanon and Vietnam. In Group C are Qatar, Kazakhstan, Oman, Hong Kong, and Turkmenistan while completing the field in Group D are China, UAE, Chinese Taipei, Papua New Guinea, and India.

The women's national team meanwhile, will compete in the Asian Club Championships from April 17 to 25 in Nakhonpathom, Thailand. Among those in the lineup are skipper Angeli Tabaquero, Rachel Ann Daquis, Michelle Datuin, and Shakey's V-League MVP Jovelyn Gonzaga. -

No comments:

Post a Comment